Histon Early Years

Search Histon Early Years Centre

New School Road, Histon, Cambridge CB24 9LL

Call us on 01223 712075  •  office@histon.cambs.sch.uk

Ofsted Registration Number 110595 / Childrens' Centre Ofsted number 21519

Governors at Histon Early Years


Our values and philosophy at Histon Early YearsOur values and philosophy at Histon Early YearsOur values and philosophy at Histon Early YearsOur values and philosophy at Histon Early Years


Chair: Jacque Wade 

Acting Head of Centre: Karen Scott

Clerk: Vacancy


Click names for further information


Parent Governors

Chris Joynes

Chris Joynes is a Parent-Governor and sits as Governor Representative on the Centre's Personnel Committee. He works as an education consultant in developing countries, with a specialism in teacher training. He is currently employed as Senior International Advisor at Education Development Trust, a Reading-based charity that works with education systems both in the UK and around the world. He has lived in Histon for 12 years.

Jane Yarwood

Picure of Jane Yarwood

I have been a Parent Governor at Histon Early Years Centre since February 2016. I am currently a full-time Mum and have a daughter who has recently attended the Nursery and a daughter who will attend in the future. I have 13 years’ experience working as a Speech and Language Therapist for both Education and the NHS. Much of this work was centred around Early Years. I believe all children should have access to good quality early years experiences and I became a Governor to help support HEYC in providing these. I sit on the Teaching, Learning and Community Provision committee.

Charlotte Hitchen

Charlotte is Chair of the Finance committee.  Bio to follow. 


Community Governors




Staff Governors

Karen Scott / Siobhan Brixey

Photo of Karen ScottPhoto of Siobhan Brixey



Local Authority Governors

Jacque Wade

Photo of Jacque Wade



Co-opted Governors

Tanya Mason

Photo of Tanya Mason

Derek Marston

Photo of Derek Marston

Brought up near Bristol, Derek has lived in Histon since 1980.  Having worked in education for 39 years, four of which were spent teaching English at Impington Village College, he retired from his post as Assistant Principal of Soham Village College in 2008 and now spends time with his family, particularly in helping to look after his four grandchildren.  He had also been engaged, since retirement, in visits to South Africa and Ghana as part of the Warwick University initiative to develop English and Maths teaching across Africa.  Derek is Chair of the Personnel committee and has responsibility for Pupil Premium.

Katherine Catford

Photo of Katherine Catford

I have been a governor since December 2015 and am currently a member of the Finance committee. I have 3 young children and am keen to contribute to the Early Years Centre and make the experience of early years education the best it can be for the children here. 


Associate Governor / Chair Advisory Board

Carole Faulkner

The Advisory Board consists of stakeholders from the communities of Cottenham, Girton, Histon, Impington, Oakington & Rampton.


FGB Minutes May 2016

Governor attendance 2015/16

Governor attendance 2016/17


We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.

EU Cookie Directive Module Information